FAQs

Here are some frequently asked questions about Kastles the card game.

Any questions?

If you have a game related question please drop us a line and one of our scribes will be happy to enlighten you normally within one sleep.

FAQs if you get stuck!

SPIES – WHERE CAN THEY LOOK?

Q: Where and on what walls can they be used on?

A: Spies are sneaky but are a great way to release cards from walls into the game (one of your wall cards may be the Dragon!.) On your go simply show a spy card to everyone then swap it face down for any wall card, including your own. Leave it there and take that wall card into your hand to use either straight away or on another go. Try and remember where the spies are placed.

LITTLE ROCKS ON CARDS?

Q: The Little Rocks at the top of the cards – what are they used for?

A: The little rocks/boulders at the top of the cards are values that come in 2, 3, 5 and 8. These are used only when firing with a catapult card. Choose a minimum of two cards from your hand and instead of using them as normal cards e.g. a spy, a jacko etc… Use them instead as ammo. Must be a minimum of 2 cards that add up to 10 rocks exactly. Fire these cards at your enemies using your catapult cards. Kaboom! Wall destroyed.

HOW DO YOU LIKE YOUR DRAGON – RARE?

Q: How rare is a Wizard or a Dragon card?

A: Very. There is only one of each! So if you do get the Dragon don’t shout about it! If another player has the Wizard they can force you to release it before you get a chance to wreak havoc.

WATER WATER EVERYWHERE…

Q: Water, how much can it douse?

A; Water is used in two ways. 1. On your go you can douse one gunpowder keg with one water card. 2. If you are attacked by a combo of gunpowder and a flaming arrow, the water card only douses the arrow fired and the one gunpowder keg used with that wall. Any other kegs adjacent or elsewhere remain untouched.

HOW MANY CARDS CAN I Play?

Q: How many cards can I play during my go?

A: You play as many as you can (or want to) and if you manage to use them all up you get to pick up another five and keep going, you’re on a roll. We have seen some castles completely wiped out in a frenzied attack, rare, but it does happen.

WHEN IS IT GAME OVER?

Q: When am I out of the game?

A: When you have no more wall cards standing to protect your Kingster and Queenie who are then sent running for the hills. You’re out of the game.

HOW MUCH CAN A JACKO REBUILD?

Q: Can a Jacko rebuild extra walls?

A: No! As helpful as the Jacko is, you can never rebuild more than the original number of walls but you can place the new wall cards in any gap.

WHEN TO ATTACK OR DEFEND?

Q: When can I defend, attack or rebuild?

A: You can defend yourself at any time in the game out of turn if you are being attacked using any cards in your hand with a red dot on them. Otherwise everything is done during your go.

KINGSTERS & QUEENIES! WHAT’S THE POINT?

Q: Does the Kingster & Queenie actually do anything?

A: Just like the real ones – no they don’t!. They are merely there for the tourists. Why not make up your own rules for them and let us know? or see our ‘Do-orDie’ additional rule which brings them into play and gets them off their fat…

CARDS & COLOURS

Q: Why are the cards different colours?

A: There is no reason for the colours of the cards but we do find it’s faster to play if you know the colours once the game commences.

CATAPULTS-R-US!

Q: Do you have to use them straight away?

A: No! Keep them secret for as long as you like but it does free up hand cards space and once you use them you can’t take them back. They remain out in front of your Kastle to use again until stolen or destroyed.

WHEN TO PICK UP CARDS & WHERE?

Q: If I play cards out of my turn e.g. in defence of being attacked, can I then pick up new cards?

A: No. You can only pick up at the beginning of your go and then commence play. And no picking up from the discard pile either!

CRUCIBLE CARDS (Back-at-cha!)

Q: Can it go back and forth over and over?

A: It goes back and forth as many times as you have Crucible cards. Every time you bounce it back that card is used up. Like Ping Pong!

LAYING ATTACK CARDS ON CARDS

Q: Can I lay a Saboteur card on a Gunpowder card or vice versa?

A: No! You can only lay one attack card on a wall otherwise it gets a little cramped.

Any questions? Tweet us @gunpowder or get in touch via our website for more info, videos and additional fun rules